something sexy about the rain

There’s something sexy about the rain. When I hear the shimmer hit the rooftop I want to take your hand and run out into the dark. I want to feel the whisper of god’s breath and cleanse my soul under the tears of stars. I am the universe when I stand under the lightning. I am the wind singing in the trickles and the earth under the deluge. There’s something sexy about the rain. It releases a spark I keep held inside and a feral glint hidden in my eye. I slip out into the storm; I escape my bonds for a time. I feel the tingle of anticipation when those first whispers of precipitation stalk into my lungs. If I could run away into the rain I would never need a sunset. I shiver with my heart bare under the weightless wash of water. There’s something sexy about the rain. I feel a yearning to become a misty spirit traveling far and away. I find a love amongst the rain I can find nowhere else. I find an answer, a question, a call. I feel at once so large and so small. I feel more than myself and less than I am. I find a simple wisdom in the fall. My heart beats along with the roar of the hush because there is something sexy about the rain.

Authors blurb: this is about eight years old. I wrote it one morning very early as I listened to the rain outside hotel windows. I hated my life and I felt trapped. but when it rained, oh when it rained… I felt like freedom was somewhere close just waiting for me. 

Leave a Reply

