That thing you did

This moment, lying together
Feeling your gentle, even, breathing

I feel serene, I feel content

But then this thing happens

This ridiculous thing, 

This instant when time stops

This thing you do, stops my breathing

Causes my heart to stutter and stop

And then race and pound

You didn’t even know you did it

But it floored my mind, it did more

It fed my soul, the starved pitiful beast inside

Who didn’t know what she was missing

Blossomed like a rose, thorns strong and fierce

Curious and fearful and unsure

After what you did, i won’t ever be the same

How could you do it, how could you…

But you couldn’t even know

As I lay beside you, such small distance in a tiny room

You slept, at peace, and I was content

But somewhat alone

Then you shifted in your sleep, sighed once, deep and long

And in your peaceful slumber you did this thing,

You moved so soft and slow, limbs gentle

You came close to me, you encircled me

Your face went from sleepy contentedness

To relaxed happiness, as you did this thing

And now I know the ridiculous truth

I could never live without you

Leave a Reply

